black-shouldered kite

Posted on Updated on

My last post birds where i live identified some of the birds I captured on camera this morning at Look At Me Now Headland … a wattle bird, a pair of laughing kookaburras and two white-faced herons. I also spotted a black-shouldered kite perched high in the branches of a she-oak. He didn’t pay that much attention to me at first but when I moved closer it turned a steely eye my way. Black-shouldered kites are very common throughout Australia and like open woodland, grasslands and paddocks, they make a loud ‘chip’ sound and a screeching hiss. This one is male (white head) and a beauty up close!

kite3

6 thoughts on “black-shouldered kite

    The Jagged Man said:
    August 28, 2012 at 10:46 am

    A beauty indeed! This one of the reasons I love blogging: I get to see birds and sights I would not get to see otherwise.

      margosnotebook responded:
      August 28, 2012 at 3:42 pm

      tx .. yes that is also what i like and i am also heartened by how many people appreciate the flora and fauna in their locale

    coastalcrone said:
    August 26, 2012 at 2:17 am

    Majestic bird & good shots!

      margosnotebook responded:
      August 26, 2012 at 7:04 am

      Thanks … I have a new camera that has better zoom/pixels and shutter speed than my last so I can capture wildlife but I will have to take a course to find out how all the buttons work!

    Jane said:
    August 25, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Lovely – and look at that sky!

      margosnotebook responded:
      August 26, 2012 at 7:07 am

      Yes the sky is a lovely blue and I thought the weeping green needles of the she-oak which have a certain fragility make him look all the more strong and regal. Thanks for liking.

Leave a Reply

