a little black duck

Posted on Updated on

Pacific Black Duck

Pacific Black Ducks are common throughout Australia and there is a little community on the lake near where I live which is part of Moonee Beach Nature Reserve. They are surprisingly skittish (perhapes that is why they are now so common) and take off as soon as they see you approach. I expect I will become one of those eccentric bird watches who sticks grass in their hat and coat so they can creep closer and take better pictures. My bird book, Slaters Field Guide to Australian Birds, 2nd edition, tells me the males make a soft three-noted quack and the females a loud descending six-note quack.. I think this may indicate who is ruling who or at least who makes the most noise about it. They have the perfect environment for nesting as the lake is surrounded by reeds and grass but these ducks are also partial to down-lined tree hollows and can lay 8-10 whitish or pale green eggs. With spring fast approaching I shall have to perfect my approach so I can capture the ducklings on camera when they appear.

2 thoughts on “a little black duck

    The Jagged Man said:
    August 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    I am trying to catch a few shots of ducks in flight. I find it akin to catching the wind or a child standing still without making a face….
    Very nice set of duck pics!

      margosnotebook responded:
      August 29, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      I had to take them from a really long distance so had to zoom and crop making them less distinct. I can see why people end up with fancy cameras and even motion detectors! I was trying to capture fairy wren’s the other day and they are so fast!!

Leave a Reply

