blue-tongue lizard 1

Posted on Updated on

P1040785

Blue tongue lizards are part of the skink family and are pretty common in most parts of Australia, in fact this one is called the Common Eastern Blue-tongued Lizard. They are docile and friendly and this very pregnant female had no qualms about approaching the family as we sat in the shade of a pandanus tree at Serenity Beach. I think she was attracted by the food as we were eating rice cakes and she walked right into our midst where she sat on a vacated towel and proceeded to eat up any scraps the grand-kids had dropped. How can you not adore that neat little foot with the lovely pattern.

5 thoughts on “blue-tongue lizard 1

    coastalcrone said:
    January 6, 2013 at 8:47 am

    Beautiful! Somehow it reminds me a blue indigo snake even they those snakes are solid blue.

      margosnotebook responded:
      January 6, 2013 at 9:17 am

      they do have a ‘bluish’ iridescence.

    thelostgirl3 said:
    January 6, 2013 at 6:48 am

    She’s beautiful! I know this has nothing to do with it but I thought it’s kind of odd and very random but figure I’ll share anyway… Right before I saw this post I got a call from one of my friends that Piggy had died. Piggy was his blue tongued skink that he had for like 3+ years.

      margosnotebook responded:
      January 6, 2013 at 9:18 am

      thats very touching … as if Piggy reached out and said thanks for loving me everyone and ‘i live on in my kind’. Thanks for sharing.

    guttermutt said:
    January 5, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    What a beautiful lizard!!! I would certainly enjoy sharing rice cakes with her. 😉

Leave a Reply

