after the rain

Image Posted on Updated on

I am a toadstool. Please don't eat me.
I am a toadstool. Please don’t eat me.

After the rain lots of ‘mushrooms‘ sprout seductively from the ground promising a good feed. The truth is most of them around here on the Coffs Coast are part of the tricky toadstool clan, like this little beauty. A good first hint in identifying who’s who is that toadstools grow under foliage and shady trees and mushrooms tend to like open pasture. I wonder if the tiny fly at its base is contemplating taking a nibble?

 

4 thoughts on “after the rain

    redbrickgirl said:
    July 30, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    Hey, great images! Have you ever considered selling your images? I work for a photography company called EyeEm and we would like to work with you. If you are interested, please send me an email at cat@eyeem.com. Have a great day!

      margosnotebook responded:
      July 30, 2014 at 9:24 pm

      Why thanks! I will give that some thought. Cheers Margo

        redbrickgirl said:
        July 30, 2014 at 11:33 pm

        Hi Margo!

        Great! Be sure to get in touch with any questions.

        Cat

    avwalters said:
    July 23, 2014 at 10:02 am

    As a kid, a friend of ours showed us a particularly toxic “mushroom.” He warned us never to touch it. Almost to illustrate the point, a fly landed on it—and then dropped dead. I don’t think any of us ever went near it–though I don’t remember its name.

Leave a Reply

