Dunvegan Castle

Image Posted on

p1180679Like many Australians my family has roots in Scotland, certainly those Scots seem to have gotten about here in New South Wales given the number of small towns promoting the Scottish clans. All together I have four Scot clans I can lay heritage to, so in October ’16 I set off to check out some of my family’s old haunts, which in large part centered on Argyll and the Isles in the north west of Scotland. Dunvegan Castle on the Isle of Skye, is the oldest continually inhabited castle in Scotland and has been the ancestral home of the Chefs of Clan MacLeod for over 800 years. p1180662While this isn’t one of my family clans, it was an immigration point for Scots heading OS back in the day, and my father’s family’s immigration papers show this as their point of departure. Its a beautiful place with a very large well maintained garden of woodlands, boarders and a walled garden that rivals the garden in the famous novel The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett, a book many love as a child and went on to become a wonderful film. garden

2 thoughts on “Dunvegan Castle

    Patricia said:
    February 19, 2017 at 7:57 am

    My home is my castle. Very glad it is considerably smaller than Dunvegan Castle. I’ m not that find of housework.

Leave a Reply

